The SAS Honors Program was created by the faculty of the School of Arts and Sciences and is under the faculty's jurisdiction and supervision.

The Honors Program is governed by the seventeen member SAS Honors Program Committee, composed of the Dean and Administrative Director of the SAS Honors Program, eight faculty members drawn from each of the four standard disciplinary areas (Humanities, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Life Sciences, and Physical and Mathematical Sciences), two faculty members drawn from non-SAS schools that offer majors and departmental honors to SAS students, two faculty members from the SAS Curriculum Committee, and three Honors Program student representatives. Four of the faculty positions are elected by the faculty of the SAS; the remainder of the positions are appointed by the Executive Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences.

The SAS Honors Program Committee has a range of responsibilities that include reviewing and approving courses as Honors courses; reviewing the applications of students who apply to the SAS Honors Program; determining admissions criteria; and voting an academic policy and curricular changes.

2017-2018 members of the School of Arts and Sciences Honors Program Committee

From SAS:
Andrew Baker, Physics and Astronomy
Richard Ebright, Waksman Institute
Brad Evans, English
Bonnie Firestein, Cell Bio and Neuroscience
Alex Kontorovich, Mathematics
Gary Merrill, Cell Bio Neuroscience
Paul Schalow, Asian Languages and Cultures
Hilary Sigman, Economics
Sarolta Takacs, History (elected to a three-year term)

Representing schools within which SAS students can major:
Galina Bolden, SC &I
Ray Caprio, Bloustein School
Joseph Markert, Rutgers Business School

honors program offices

Nelson Biological Labs
Room A-110
P 848-445-3912
Milledoler Hall
Room 119
P 848-932-1406
College Hall
Room 306
P 848-932-2011
Lucy Stone Hall
Room A-201
P 848-445-3206